{Review} Maybelline 24 hour tattoo eye shadow

I have been hearing all about this product. The things people have been saying made me think it was going to totally rock and be the next newest thing everyone had to have. So I went and bought it (on sale of course) at Ulta.

First, I played with the white one called “Too Cool”. It wasn’t what I thought it would be or what I wanted. Although white is a hard color to get exactly pigmented. I wanted it to be a harder white and not so shimmery and sheer.

Since I knew that whites are just hard to do I grabbed the orange and purple ones. The texture reminds me of the MAC paint pots a bit, but these are a little bit thicker and have more of a color to them where the paint pots tend to be sheer. I didn’t have to layer the orange hardly at all and the purple only a few times to get the darker color I wanted.

I woke up the other morning to do a shoot and decided I would rock one out and picked the orange. I put that on without a base since it seems thick enough that it wouldn’t need it. Then I added a hot pink I got from Loreal at the dollar store and highlighted as well. Real simple, nothing too hard about it.

As the day went on I was getting hot and working hard. When my day was done I sat down to clean my face and noticed that my eye shadow was creased and had mostly sweated off. I was very disappointed as I have not had that happen in many years. I am not sure exactly when it started to fall, but it fell nonetheless.

Next time I will try it with Too Faced Shadow Insurance underneath it to help it stay. Other than not lasting 24 hours (or less) I did like the colors I picked out. You can check out more colors here. Please check out the Too Faced Cosmetics line here.

I will tell you it was rough trying to get the swatches off my hand with a wipe though hehe.

I’d love to hear about your experiences with Maybelline’s Color Tattoo.

Leave a Reply

